Hall of Fame 2022

1986 Girls Track Team

As a fledgling program with its inception in the early 1980s, the 1986 Williston girls track and field team was part of an era of domination. Led by head coach Kendrick Heath ’57 and assistants Al Shaler, Paul Soner- son, and Karolyn Welsh Busconi, the 1986 team was the first track and field team in school history to finish the regular season undefeated. This streak would continue through the 1987 season and halfway through 1988 before their dual meet winning streak would be stopped at 22. To say that the 1986 team was dominant that spring would be an understatement. With the exception of one close meet with Kingswood Oxford, the aver- age score of the other eight meets was an astounding 99-27. The team was stacked with a tremendous array of multi-sport athletes led by senior captain Beth Hale. After sweeping through its dual meet season, the team headed to the New England prep championships held at MIT. As was the case throughout the season, the girls competed their hearts out, coming up just short by finishing in second place behind champion Governor Dummer. There were some tremendous performances as 10 different girls earned points on the day. Leading the way was captain Beth Hale, who had an incredible day, winning three individual events: the long jump, the 200-meter dash, the 400-meter dash, and anchoring the 4×100 and 4×400 relay teams that both won gold. Thrower Leah Stahlsmith also had a tremendous day coming in fourth in the discus and winning the shot put with a throw exceeding 31 feet. Additionally, up-and-comer freshman Jen Lussier broke the school record in the 100 when she finished in third. It was indeed a memorable season!

Team members: Bethany S. Babyak ’90, Melissa J. Babyak ’87, Lisa Baker ’89, Amanda L. Blake ’87, Leah Stahlsmith Boyan ’87, Susan Colina ’88, Penelope A. Duda ’87, Erica Levine Faulkner ’88, Kristina Moskos Garbert ’87, Jennifer Hatch Gubbins ’88, Paula Bottorf Hoy ’87, Jennifer Lussier Johndrow ’89, Beth Hale Kendall ’86 (Captain), Julie Kim ’87, Devra Weisman Kingman ’86, Holly McBurnie Kissane ’87, Karen Cloutier LaPointe ’89, Tracy Stewart Poulin ’87, Karen Weed Vacaliuc ’86 (Manager), Andrea L. Zellan ’87