Hall of Fame 2017

1981-82 Football Team


Led by Head Coach Rick Francis and assistant coaches Steve Purington, Jay Readinger, and Robert Shaw ’76, the 1981 Varsity Football team was the first Williston football team to go undefeated since the 1963 squad. Outscoring their opponents 217-61, the 1981 team enjoyed a tremendous season – including two shutouts. Co-captains Steve Kaye and Steve Okun led the team to average game scores of 31 – 7. Proving impenetrable on defense, the team allowed ZERO touchdown passes during the season while limiting opponents to an average of 2 yards per rushing attempt.

The defense held all eight opponents to under 100 yards total offense in each game never giving up more than 14 points in any one game. Offensively, the team was led by a dynamic quartet of skill players – quarterback Scott Estes, receiver Mike Doetsch) and running backs Steve Kaye and Steve Okun. Okun led the team in rushing with 585 yards while Doetsch had a tremendous year with over 1,000 all-purpose yards. The team finished its special season in style when it defeated rival Gunnery 50-14 in its last game.


John Bolton ’82
Adam Brown ’82
Michael Conran ’82
G. Colman Crowther ’82
Michael Doetsch ’82
R. Scott Estes ’82
John Hexamer ’82
Randall Hoyt ’82
Steven Kaye ’82
Philip Korn ’82
William Koski ’82
Steven Okun ’82
James Scheckter ’82
John Shank ’82
Henry Baer ’83
Michael Barry ’83
Brian Bergfield ’83
Joseph Boynton ’83
Mark Browning ’83
John Bruce ’83
Christopher Canney ’83
C. Todd Francis ’83
Alan Gindoff ’83
David Monroe ’83
Daniel Nicoli ’83
Juan Salichs ’83
Edward Stanton ’83
Stephen Sullivan ’83
Joseph Tarrantino ’83
Christopher Walsh ’83
Will Egbers ’84
Craig Ferri ’84
Rodney Moore ’84
William Okun ’84
David Rogers ’84
Michele Hurst Burton ’83
Richard Francis, Coach
Stephen Purington, Coach
Charles J. Readinger, Coach
Robert Shaw ’76, Coach