Hall of Fame 2024

2009 Girls Lacrosse Team 2009

The girls lacrosse team entered the 2009 season with some pressure on them: the previous year, the Wildcats had gone undefeated.  Fortunately, the 2009 team proved up to the challenge putting together another unbeaten season keeping the team at the very top of girls lacrosse teams in New England, winning a Class B Western New England title and a Central New England Tournament championship. Led by head coach Jen Fulcher, the 2009 Williston team was a determined, hungry, and decisive group of players that finished the season with a perfect 11-0 record extending the program win streak to a remarkable 26 games!  The season included many memorable wins, including a come-from-behind overtime win over a previously undefeated Suffield team and a thrilling overtime win over Choate that was sent to an extra period on a last second shot by freshman Bridget Instrum. In the Central New England tournament, S.A. Fogelman, Katie Pettengill and Katie Palasz were named to the all-tournament team while Palasz and Fogelman were also named New England All Stars.  SA also was named an honorable mention All American.  Palasz took home The Davis MVP Award for the season while Sarah McCullagh was named Most Improved and Gillian Mann ’09 won the Kate Risley ’93 Sportsmanship Award.  Palasz and Pettengill capped off stellar careers that spring with Pettengill finishing her career with 153 goals and 57 assists, while Palasz scored 154 goals for her career.  Yes, the two combined for 307 goals!   The team roster included Mika Black, Anna Carando, Laura Bartus Eldridge, S.A. Fogleman, Liz Gans, Courtney Goldsmith, Jill Grant, Abby Hatch, Hannah Haugh (Haw), Bridget Instrum, Amanda Lovell, Gillian Mann, Sarah McCullagh, Julia Midland, Katie Palasz, Katie Pettengill Blizzard, Karly Simpson, Jenna Spooner, Stephanie Kapinos Tonissi and Meghann Treacy.