Cum Laude Society Welcomes 10


The Cum Laude honor society welcomed 10 new Williston student members during a ceremony in the Phillips Stevens Chapel on January 4. The society, modeled after Phi Beta Kappa, recognizes academic achievement by students in secondary schools for the purpose of promoting excellence (Areté), justice (Diké), and honor (Timé). The inductees, top performers in the senior class, who are chosen by faculty, are

  • Dora Gordon
  • Robert A. Hill
  • Simon Kim
  • Aidan C. McCreary
  • Donald J. Poulin
  • Amanda Shen
  • Caleb M. Stern
  • Glede Wang
  • Emily Warren
  • Trix Willems

Former Massachusetts State Treasurer and candidate for governor Shannon O’Brien ’77 addressed the assembly, encouraging students to “be kinder than you have to be” because the connections you make are what makes your life more full and interesting. She praised the 10 inductees for their love of learning, an attribute she said she shares. She added that leadership “is not about being the best, it’s about making everyone else better,” and reminded students that the key to success is finding your passion and “getting paid to do what you love.”

See photos of the event here. Video is here.