11 Students Inducted into Cum Laude Society
by Kate Snyder

During the Williston Northampton School’s 177th Commencement on May 26, 2018, History and Global studies teacher Peter Gunn led the induction of 11 new members into the Cum Laude Society.

The Cum Laude Society is a national honor society modeled on Phi Beta Kappa. Williston Academy joined the society in 1921. The Northampton School for Girls received its charter in 1951.  And in 1971 the society granted the merged Williston Northampton School a new charter.  Membership into the Cum Laude Society is the highest academic award that the Williston faculty can bestow.

“All of us gathered here can take inspiration from the three words that form the motto of Cum Laude:  Areté, meaning excellence; Diké, meaning justice; and Timé, meaning honor, Gunn said. “Excellence, Justice, and Honor can characterize the life each of us chooses to lead – not just in the classroom, but across our campus, and in the broader world.”

Gunn called to the stage Cum Laude members inducted in January and then welcomed the new members, who received a membership pin and certificate from President Peter Valine and Vice-President Greg Tuleja:

  • Fiona Katherine Bundy
  • Joshua Elias Calianos
  • Timothy Tate Fay
  • Keilly Johana Moncada
  • Momoka Oda
  • Yana Pyralina
  • Lydia Eva Pollard
  • Natalie Elizabeth Romain
  • Triniti Slaughter
  • Mika Anya Sovjani 
  • Xavier Francois Thibault 

They join the 11 students inducted into the program in January:

  • Caroline Channell
  • Anabelle Farnham
  • Madison Fulcher-Melendy
  • Anna Harvey
  • Emma Lehrer
  • Sabrina Liew
  • Sara Renkert
  • Sophia Schaefer
  • Ana Weed
  • Hanzhang Zhao
  • Wangchen Zhou